Information about the IPMA Certification and prices

The process of evaluating your project management competencies involves different means and is divided into four independent levels A, B, C and D depending on your experience within the field.

Read more about what is required at each level, the process and the prices in the PDF-brochure on IPMA Certification

If you want to know more about IPMA Certification in an international perspective, the IPMA Yearbook can be found here.

Recognition of certificates

The IPMA certification provides international peer recognition of one’s competence. It compliments and enhances other technical, business or other equivalent qualifications, by demonstrating that an individual is also competent in the crucial ability to manage projects. It assists in the recognition of the transferability of an individual’s skills from one organisation or industry to another. Also, through participation in the certification process, individuals enhance their confidence in their project management and general business competence.


  • provides a benchmark;
  • classifies knowledge;
  • enhances competence of specialists in project management;
  • enhances confidence in clients that the organisation can handle their business efficiently and cost effectively;
  • gives knowledge in the following directions: basic terms, tasks, practices, skills, functions, management processes, methods, techniques and tools that are used in project management;
  • gives special knowledge and experience, where appropriate, of innovative and advanced practices used in more limited situations;
  • offers access to the technical, behavioural and contextual competence elements of project management.

Benefits of certification

A multi-level certification system offers the opportunity to reflect developing competence. The certificates awarded to individuals are based on typical project, programme and portfolio management roles carried out in practice. These roles in organizations are the possible career paths for people to move from secondary education into an organization in a role in the project management profession. These levels provide a suitable framework for developing career paths in organizations as well as for creating development programmes for individuals and organizations.

A Comparison of PMI and IPMA Approaches

Who may apply?
Each candidate should have higher education in any specialty, independently of certification level.
For more information send an email to